“One Small Part of Heaven” by Roy King {Review}

Title: One Small Part of Heaven
Author: Roy King
ISBN: 978-1439263990
Publisher: BookSurge Publishing
Genre: Fiction
Published: February 17, 2010
Length: 320 Pages
Price: $14.99
Paperback

I was provided a copy of this book by the author, Roy King, in exchange for my honest opinion of it. I received no other compensation for this review.

From the Author:

One Small Part of Heaven tells parallel stories, one in the natural world and one in the spiritual. A man is hit by a car and killed. He ends up in the spiritual world. About the same time, over a thousand miles away, a young housewife is in a traffic accident and is killed, and she too ends up in the spiritual world. They’re almost immediately together, because they are perfect for each other and because they are meant to be together. They do not interact with the natural world nor seek closure with it. They go to one small part of heaven and are very happy there. Meanwhile, their spouses in the natural world meet each other and are married, and are almost happy together, in spite of all the trials and tribulations on earth, until they too enter the spiritual world and go to their small part of heaven.

My Review:

I was really nervous going into this book. The author told me it was self-published and, right away, I was nervous. I have heard that self-published books can be bad. Really bad. So, I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading One Small Part of Heaven and found that I actually enjoyed it.

To be honest, the first half of the book was more enjoyable than the ending. Once the two main characters went to the “spiritual world” I found that the book lost a lot of its interest for me. Let me be clear, this is NOT a Christian Fiction book. If you go into One Small Part of Heaven looking for an inspirational religious story about the wonders that lie beyond, you are going to be grossly disappointed. There is gratuitous sex (albeit mildly written), quite a bit of cursing and a rather sexualized storyline altogether. But, if you’re in for a mildly decent fiction book with the aforementioned attributes, go for it.

At times, it seems the author got a bit hasty in his writing and the story seems to jump and show inconsistencies in the storyline.  But, for the most part, this is a good read. Probably not a book I would carry with me everywhere I went looking for a spare moment to read, but I would recommend it for a beach book or just a rainy day when you’re stuck in the house.

Leave a Reply

