The Necromancer (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott

Title: The Necromancer (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel)
Author: Michael Scott
ISBN: 978-0385735315
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Genre: Fiction
Published: May 25, 2010
Length: 416 Pages
Price: $18.99
Hardcover

About the Author:

An authority on mythology and folklore, Michael Scott is one of Ireland’s most successful authors. A master of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and folklore, he has been hailed by the Irish Times as “the King of Fantasy in these isles.” The Necromancer is the fourth book in the series The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. Look for book one, The Alchemyst; book two, The Magician; and book three, The Sorceress, all available from Delacorte Press. You can learn more about these books at http://www.thealchemyst.com.

You can visit Michael Scott at http://www.dillonscott.com.

My Review

I’ll be honest; I have not read the first three books of this series. I’ll be honest again; I loved this book. I plan on getting the first three as soon as possible so that I can read up on how the story got to where it is (although Michael Scott does an awesome job of setting things up so you can pretty much figure out where everyone stands and how they got there). Easily comparable to the Harry Potter books (you may remember Nicholas Flamel as the original owner of the Sorcerer’s Stone in the first book), but don’t be confused. Nicholas Flamel was a real person and this series in no way ties into the wizarding world of Harry Potter.

Throughout the book, there are several different story lines that all work together to create a dynamic and suspenseful plot. The twins, Josh and Sophie, are trying so hard to hone their skills and learn all they can, while at the same time trying to figure out which side is the “good” side in the epic battle that is inevitably coming. The Necromancer leaves off in a real cliff-hanger and I really cannot wait for the next book to come out next year. It’s going to be a long wait.

If you enjoyed Harry Potter or any other fantasy or young adult fiction, you will likely enjoy The Necromancer as much as I did.

***

Here is your chance to win your own paperback copy of the The Necromancer as well as a Necromancer water bottle (bpa free). This is a $25 retail value.

To enter, just visit the “Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel” fan page on Facebook and “like” it then come back here and leave me a comment telling me that you did.

Extra Entries

  • Subscribe to this blog via email (will be verified)
  • “Like” Lindsay Reviews on Facebook

This giveaway will accept entries until 11:59 pm on June 1, 2010. Any entries received after that time will be disregarded. This giveaway is open to US residents only. Please leave a separate comment for each entry.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
74 Comments

  1. Devon said,

    May 20, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Well I was already a fan of Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Face-book, so yeah.

    • May 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm

      All the better 😉

      • Devon said,

        May 20, 2010 at 10:05 pm

        Oh cool! You can do smiley faces!:):):)

      • Devon said,

        May 20, 2010 at 10:06 pm

        Oh wait, nope you can’t. 😦

  2. Devon said,

    May 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    And now I hit “Like” for Lindsay Reviews because they reviewed my favorite book series.

  3. Devon said,

    May 20, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    And now without farther ado I hit checked marked the first button on there that said: Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

  4. Zoe Baxter said,

    May 20, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    omg…i LOVE LOVE LOVE this series! can’t wait to read this one, LOVED the previous three….Michael Scott is so my FAVORITE AUTHOR!!!!

  5. May 21, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Hey I just liked the fan page of Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel so now I’m leaving you a comment haha.

    I also liked Lindsay Reviews on Facebook and subscribed to this blog via email.

  6. Gina said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:39 am

    Aww..shucks…can’t enter the contest as I don’t FACEBOOK, but the series is definitely a winner. You simply MUST read the other books…they are fantastic! Happy reading!

  7. Raelena said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:52 am

    fan of Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook

  8. Raelena said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:53 am

    “Like” Lindsay Reviews on Facebook-Rae Pavey

  9. casey burns said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:56 am

    I LIKE IT!!! I LIKE IT!!! I LIKE IT!!!

  10. May 21, 2010 at 8:14 am

    count me in …

    Barry

    anamchara(at)gmail.com

    http://gnostalgia.wordpress.com

  11. Catrina said,

    May 21, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Definitely liked it on facebook and I can’t wait for the book to be released!

  12. Catrina said,

    May 21, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Liked “Lindsey Reviews” on Facebook too!

  13. Catrina said,

    May 21, 2010 at 8:43 am

    I also just confirmed my subscription to the blog by email!

  14. Devon said,

    May 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Wow I just learned that for every person who comments on a post after me I get sent an e-mail, so I ended up having eleven e-mails in my in-box just from Lindsay Reviews. :O

    • May 21, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      Well you did elect to subscribe to comments. You should unsubscribe from the comments and just subscribe to the blog itself on the left side of the screen here. It will make life easier for you 🙂

      • Devon said,

        May 21, 2010 at 7:03 pm

        Okay, thanks! 🙂

  15. Mandie said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I’m a fan! time4mommy@gmail.com

  16. Mandie said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    subscribed to this email
    time4mommy@gmail.com

  17. Mandie said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I like you on facebook 🙂

  18. Meaghan F. said,

    May 21, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    I like Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook. I’m actually a fan of the series, but because of college I’ve only read the first two so I’m super excited to read the third and then this one!

  19. Sarah said,

    May 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I liked Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook.
    I can’t wait to read the newest book!

  20. Roseann Broz said,

    May 22, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Hi,
    I am a new subscriber (love the blog) and I have “liked” Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flanel on Facebook. Please enter me in the contest!

  21. katarina said,

    May 22, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    i am so a fan of secrets of the immortal nicholas flamel on facebook!!!

  22. Belinda Simmons said,

    May 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I am the librarian at our local private school. I read what the students are reading for several reasons (one being I like the same type books) Another when a student ask, I can honestly give them a summary and recommendation. This series was suggested by one of our 8th grade students. Currently I am reading the first one, The Alchemyst, and I truly am enjoying the plot.

    I am about half way through and am very pleased with the lack of foul language and suggestive content.

    I give this series a definite thumbs up. If I win this book, I will be donating it to our library. Being privately funded, a lot of our books are gifts from parents, students, and friends.

    Thank you for the opportunity to enter this contest.

  23. Karalina Jones said,

    May 24, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    I signed up for e-mail updates, and I don’t have a face-book but I am I huge fan of the book series, and I was saddened to learn that Barnes and Noble aren’t getting the book till August 24, which is downright one of the saddest things ever in book history, however I was relived when I called another bookstore and they said that they should get it tomorrow. So in the mean time I shall type, and type, and wait.

  24. May 25, 2010 at 3:26 am

    Nicholas Flamel has definitely inspired tons of books and stories. We are not just talking about Harry Potter. From a possble cameo in Indiana Jones and the Philosopher’s stone to the symbol on Edward’s coat (Full metal aclhemist)

  25. May 25, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Hi Lindsay, I liked your page page and the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. I will also suggest to my friends to like your page on Facebook.

  26. May 25, 2010 at 10:24 am

    […] Don’t forget…you still have time to enter your very own copy of The Necromancer (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel). Just click HERE. […]

  27. Venkat S said,

    May 25, 2010 at 10:26 am

    I am fan of Scott….

  28. Venkat S said,

    May 25, 2010 at 10:26 am

    I clicked that link tooooo……

  29. Sue said,

    May 25, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    I “like” on facebook. My 13 year old really, really likes in real life. Thanks for the giveaway.

  30. Jason said,

    May 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    I liked the page on facebook. I go by Brandon Cummings over there though.

  31. Kathleen Ferguson said,

    May 25, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I was already a fan of the Flamel Page

  32. Kathleen Ferguson said,

    May 25, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I liked Lindsey’s Review page on facebook

  33. Kathleen Ferguson said,

    May 25, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    I subscribed to the blog.

  34. Owen said,

    May 25, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    “Liked” it on Facebook.

  35. Owen said,

    May 25, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    And subscribed to the blog.

  36. Alice said,

    May 25, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    I am a fan on facebook. 🙂 Alice C.

    • May 26, 2010 at 7:38 am

      I’ll be honest…I did a double take and for a micro second thought, “OMG Alice Cullen!”

      • Kathleen Ferguson said,

        May 27, 2010 at 2:46 pm

        LOL That is funny I had the same thought when reading through all of your comments Lindsay.

  37. callum daniel said,

    May 26, 2010 at 12:22 am

    i like the fan page on facebook and i have all the books and the day i saw one of the back pages i searched on the internet when does the necromancer come out i was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo angry when i learnt it wasnt coming out in new zealand till early june…grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    • May 26, 2010 at 7:37 am

      Oh that’s no good! The unfortunate truth is, however, that this giveaway is only open to US residents due to shipping costs. Sorry 😦

  38. Oneida said,

    May 26, 2010 at 12:52 am

    I liked it too!

  39. Devon said,

    May 26, 2010 at 2:26 am

    I hope I end up winning it, all I have been having today is horrible rotten good for nothing luck. Today started out good, at seven went to see the Titanic at the theater, when we were walking to the car I tripped on the sidewalk and somehow managed not to spill the drink, while on the way home at eleven we went to Fred and Myers to pick up a copy of The Necromancer, which they didn’t have so then I thought Wal-mart would have to have it right? Well with my bad luck they didn’t and now I’m really sad that I can’t find The Necromancer. Now all that is left to do is to go and get a cookie. The End.

    • May 26, 2010 at 7:35 am

      Oh Devon! It sounds like a terrible horrible no good very bad day! I hope you have a better day today!

  40. Christopher B. said,

    May 26, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Hello Lindsay, I just “Liked” your profile on Facebook, subscribed to your blog via e-mail address, and “Liked” the Quest For The Codex profile on Facebook. Good luck in your selection for the winner of the drawing!

  41. Amanda said,

    May 27, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I liked it on FB! I loved Alchemyst and Magician, so I can’t wait for this one. Thanks for the opportunity!!

    • Devon said,

      May 27, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      Have you read The Sorceress?

  42. Amanda said,

    May 27, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I subscribed to you via email. *fingers crossed* Thanks again

  43. Allison said,

    May 27, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    I like The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook

  44. Allison said,

    May 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    Subscribe via email

  45. Allison said,

    May 27, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Like Lindsay Reviews on Facebook

  46. faith17 said,

    May 28, 2010 at 5:25 am

    hi ms. lindsay, I wish i could joined this contest i really like the book of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel but the problem im not in US based im on Philippines and you know all of Filipinos like to read book andthey also think this book will be like the next harry potter movies…
    im also excited in other books…
    * The Alchemyst-read it
    * The Magician-read it
    * The Sorceress
    * The Necromancer
    * The Warlock
    * The Enchantress

    the other book is my other plan to buy it cause foreign books is so expensive and i only buy paperback.

    thank for ur review….

    • May 28, 2010 at 7:41 am

      Thank you for stopping by, Faith! I will try to find a good international contest to have in the future. I hate to leave anyone out in the cold!

  47. Jason said,

    May 28, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Facebook Fan

    Parker Ozgood

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  48. Jason said,

    May 28, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    subscriber

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  49. Jason said,

    May 28, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Facebook Fan of you

    Parker Ozgood

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  50. Jaque said,

    May 28, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I “like” The Secrets of the Immortal on the Facebook fan page. I also mentioned the great review you did of this book!
    Thank you. 🙂

  51. Lorielle said,

    May 29, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I like The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook! I would love to read this… wonder if I should read the others in the series first!

    • May 29, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      I would suggest reading the first three first, only because Michael Scott is a great writer. But, this book has the ability to stand alone. It would, however, be greatly enhanced by the rest of the story being told.

  52. faith17 said,

    May 30, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Thank you ms. Lindsay for answering my comment about this, i wish you will have a international contest in the future. I will wait for that to happen! ;D Dont worry i never leave out in the cold, I just love reading new blogs concerning thru this new book of Mr. Michael Scott. He also have many books to share but i really like this book of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. t.y. ;D

  53. Laree said,

    May 31, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Done. I loved the first two books and can’t wait to get the next ones!

  54. Renee G said,

    June 1, 2010 at 12:18 am

    I like’d the facebook page for the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

  55. Janel C said,

    June 1, 2010 at 1:17 am

    fb liked them (a mom’s take)

  56. 1993wel said,

    June 1, 2010 at 5:38 am

    I “liked” the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook.

  57. Tara W said,

    June 1, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I “liked” Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on Facebook. (Tara Woods)

  58. Tara W said,

    June 1, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I “liked” Lindsay Reviews on Facebook. (Tara Woods)

  59. Tara W said,

    June 1, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    I subscribed to your blog via email. mizztuts[AT]bellsouth[DOT]net

  60. susan smoaks said,

    June 1, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    i like them on facebook tony l smoaks

  61. kathy pease said,

    June 1, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    like sinf on facebook Kathy L Pease

  62. heather c said,

    June 1, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    I like The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel on facebook.


Leave a Reply

