Booking Through Thursday ~ Week 2

btt button

Which do you prefer? Short stories? Or full-length novels?

I prefer full-length novels. Short stories can be great, but when I really like a story, I want to immerse myself in it. Tha’ts nearly impossible with a short story. It takes about 400+ pages to make me a happy reader. Even 200-300 page novels are okay, but they just don’t give me enough time to really enjoy the plotlines, the characters, the places, etc.

Upcoming Stuff…

June 7th – Guest Blog by B. Swangin Webster, author of Just Let Me Say This and And Again…Let Me Say This

June 10th – Guest Blog by Karen Kostlivy, author of Cyber Writers and the Zebra of Life (read my review here)

Reviews

 ~Shiva’s Arms by Cheryl Snell

~Blood Over Badge by Wayne Farquah

~Dad’s Bible: The Father’s Plan

~The Third Rail by Michael Harvey

~The Summer of Skinny Dipping byAmanda Howells

5 Comments

  1. Amber said,

    June 3, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Yeah, there’s SO much you can do with more pages!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! 🙂

  2. Michael said,

    June 3, 2010 at 11:50 am

    While I love a great, long novel that you can sink your teeth into, I also think a good short story is a wonderful thing.

    I guess part of it is I took several fiction writing classes in college where we wrote short stories exclusively. So, that experience has helped me determine what is a great short story and what isn’t….

    http://nashvillebookworm.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/booking-through-thursday-length/

    • June 3, 2010 at 12:36 pm

      Michael, you’re absolutley right. A well-written short story is a beautiful thing. They are just much more hard to create due to the limited space, I think. Plus, I really enjoy reading the same (good) book for hours on end. That is something you just can’t do with a short story.

  3. June 3, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    For me, it depends. I can read both.

    BTT: long and short of it

  4. Mish said,

    June 3, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I’ll take quality over quantity any day. There are several short stories that were far better than novels I’ve read. I’m all for long novels over 400 pages if the content is worthwhile and not just words filling up paper.


Leave a Reply

